Observations of a Lost Writer

Posted: December 7, 2011 in Life
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

In all fairness, although true, I feel my post “Flight 4476” was a little harsh. Perhaps I was blunt and somewhat lop-sided in my observations of Grand Consumption. I have had the “Grand” pleasure, pardon the pun, of meeting some really cool people here. Let me just say they are the exception to the norm. I will call them “my friends” since they have gone out of their way to make me feel welcome throughout my visit and to some degree have allowed me the splended opportunity to consider a return visit. I shall certainly miss their hugs and smiling faces. By the way…they are not missing teeth or laden with oxygen masks.  I will speak of two of them in no particular order of relevence and may embellish just a tad. Enjoy!

One of the most enjoyable and unexpected of my new friends is a woman who is in her 80s named Jule. Her daughter and son-in-law, Peg and Mel, asked if I would like to take a ride over with them to visit her. She lives alone, in a beautiful house, with the exception of her pal Louie. Louie is a well-mannered yet loud macaw. Jule is really quite gorgeous and must have been a looker in her day. At first glance I thought her to be fragile and perhaps reserved. I would soon learn otherwise. She wears her hair in a shiny silver bob, and her face is as fair as porcelain. When she smiles she lights the entire room. Her voice is sultry, and her first words to me were astounding and spoken in a clear and concise manner. “Do you play Wii?” she asked me. Well, I never had and for a brief moment I endured an overwhelming feeling of culture shock. I was about to be led into an area of technology I hadn’t yet explored, and by a woman who should never have known that such a game even existed. Wow, I thought…I want to be like this woman in my golden years. Her unexpected invitation lent me the opportunity to induldge in an abridged recollection of my far-from-ordinary grandmother (of whom I shall soon write). The result of the game? Well, lets just say she beat my pants off with finesse and style while Louie cheered her on!

Another of my new acquaintances is a 65+ woman named Nan. Nan is a hoot! This woman is an old farmer who does not mince her words. She was raised in the back country of “Grand Consumption”. After high school she left the confines of her home in the sticks to complete flight attendant school in Denver. It’s amazing that her family had allowed her to go so far from the farm to pursue such a worldly career. Her straight forward, gruff personality is contradictory to such a pursuit. Well, as it turned out, she was called back home by her mama when she broke the news to the family that her graduation would take her on to a career in New York. Thank god she did, as Nan would not be Nan had she moved away from the outskirts of the “Grand” valley. This warm-hearted woman has an opinion and voice that warns in advance that she is a person to be reckoned with. She means well, and seems to know what she’s talking about. What a joy to listen to her speak. She has some of the funniest and most unusual expressions I have ever heard. She once referred to a hard-headed friend of hers as being “tougher ‘n bowled (boiled) owl”. And when speaking about preparing dinner she refers to a kettle as a “kittle” neither term of which I have heard lately. “A’m gunna put on a kittle of beans for ‘eem”. Another of her very common oddly pronounced words is “him”. In fact, now that I think about it, many local-dwellers have the same habit. They NEVER pronounce “him” as ole’ Merriam Webster would have suggested. It’s always “eem”. Well, Nan is one woman I will never forget. When I said my goodbyes to her she had tears in her eyes and said, “You need to take ‘keer’ now”.

As I reflect back on my visits with people like Jule and Nan I will always remember them as people of the “Grand” valley. Yes, although there are a tantamount number of odd people ever-so-present in “Grand Consumption” there too are real treasures.

Leave a Reply

